The Jackdaw by Luke Delaney (Sean Corrigan #4)

51ZZlOTg-+L._SY346_

My Rating: 4/5

Availability: 12 March 2015 – Hardcover, Kindle, Nook, Kobo,

24 Sept 2015 – Paperback

Synopsis: Guilty or not guilty? A lone vigilante is abducting wealthy Londoners and putting their fate in the hands of the public. Within hours of disappearing, the victims appear on the internet, bound to a chair in a white room. Revenge or mercy? Their crimes of greed and incompetence are broadcast to the watching thousands who make up the jury. Once the verdict is cast, the man who calls himself ‘The Jackdaw’ will be judge and executioner.

Live or die? DI Sean Corrigan and his Special Investigations Unit are under pressure to solve this case fast. But as The Jackdaw’s popularity grows, Corrigan realizes he’s hunting a dangerously clever and elusive adversary – one who won’t stop until his mission is complete.

My Review: Luke Delaney is something of a new kid around town. His debut novel Cold Killing was released in 2013. It took me some time to get around to reading and once I had I didn’t want to stop. The first two books in the series were amazing and I really do think Delaney is a very quick rising star who will soon become as well read as the likes of Patterson and Lee Child. The one thing that for me is a winner is the lead character Sean Corrigan. He walks the tightrope to a point where you wonder whether he will fall into the worlds of the psychologically damaged and become just like the killers he hunts.

The fourth book from Luke Delaney brings Corrigan back into the fold with the latest case along with his colleagues Donnelly and Sally. It seems that there is a lone vigilante kidnapping Londoners and then putting them in front of a live audience via the web and asking them to vote so that the killer can become both judge and executioner. I only had one problem with this initial story and that was that I very recently read a book with a similarly themed plot. With that small issue aside, the story launches straight back in and I felt like I hadn’t been away from Sean and his work colleagues.

This latest book not only brings a fast paced plot to it, it also highlights Sean’s somewhat dangerous state of mind. I wasn’t a fan of the psychologist Anna appearing again and it felt like this added to Sean’s misery somewhat and it made me dislike her. The plot was well paced and there was so much going on that at times I could sympathise with the varying degrees of stress the characters were under. It also felt like we are uncovering more and more of Sean and his personal life with each case that he works. It certainly makes me question (and want to know) what will happen next. The Jackdaw made for a great killer and it was done cleverly with me thinking I had it worked out and realising I didn’t.

As ever this is a solid read and one that I think his fans will love. If you haven’t read this series I would highly recommend you do, but from book one. The first two books still remain my favourites but Luke Delaney is fast becoming one of my must read authors.

The Keeper by Luke Delaney (Sean Corrigan #2)

download (1)

My Rating: 5/5

 Luke Delaney published his debut novel Cold Killing back in March 2013. I finally got around to reading it in May of the same year and literally couldn’t put it down. When I received an early copy of the second in this series featuring DI Sean Corrigan I couldn’t resist putting all my other books on hold. Sean Corrigan is a brilliant lead character. It’s hard to describe his ‘gift’ that he has for being able to walk in the killer’s shoes. His imagination lets him think just like the people he is chasing. In this current book, women start disappearing from their homes in broad daylight. Sean and his team need to work around the clock, and possibly against a crazy man’s timetable before women start turning up dead.

The first few chapters re-acquaint the reader with Sean and his team. DS Sally Jones is dealing with her own demons following the last case they worked on, and DS Dave Donnelly is as usual Sean’s right hand man. Both of these characters feature heavily in the book and they have both demanded my attention from book one. This follow up is no different, and each of the characters plays their part extraordinarily well. I’m surprised that this is only Delaney’s second novel. To those that maybe didn’t know you might assume he has been writing years. I think the authors previous years in the force has enabled him to put more experience than research into the book; and it shows!

From the very beginning we know who the killer is, there is no hiding from it. What the reader is treated to is the rather warped and sick world of Thomas Keller. What I really like about this book, is that although there are no surprises as such (like I said we know who the killer is), you instead feel like you are actually in the depth of a huge Murder Investigation. The added bonus about this book is Sean Corrigan himself. His character has a very dark side. Throughout this whole book you have that horrible feeling that he is teetering between good and evil. Is his ability to ‘recreate’ the killer’s thoughts and feelings pushing him closer to their world? From the beginning to the end it’s the pure chase that kept me hooked. It didn’t matter that I knew who was doing what, it still had me reading until late in the night.

I think Luke Delaney is set to be a big name in the crime genre. If he keeps this up, he will be on Peter James tail quicker than you can say Roy Grace. This latest instalment had me thoroughly gripped from start to finish. Yep, it scared the living daylights out of me (especially as the area it’s set in I live near to), but I truly am hooked and am eagerly anticipating the next one.  

Cold Killing by Luke Delaney (Sean Corrigan #1)

Cold Killing

My Rating: 5/5

Well, the only thing I can say is if you havem’t read this debut novel by Luke Delaney, you should certainly give it a go, absolutely brilliant. Here’s my review…

I read the synopsis about this book and thought it sounded great. I mean w…ho better to write a book about the murky worlds of killers that an ex-copper turned CID with experience of extreme violence. When I looked at the bio of Luke Delaney I wasn’t surprised to see that this was a pseudonym, as I can’t imagine many coppers would want their real name and picture plastered about on books! This is the first in a series of books featuring DI Sean Corrigan. The difference between DI Corrigan and others is that Sean has an ability to take his thoughts to the dark side of a killer. His upbringing has left him with deep scars and emotions that haunt him; thankfully they also make him a great copper.

When I started reading this book I didn’t realise that within the first couple of chapters I would be so completely absorbed. DI Sean Corrigan is an absolutely fantastic character. He is a normal guy with a wife and kids, working a job that has unsociable hours. However when the first crime scene turns up in the book you see the other side to him. I really can’t explain just how dark this side of his character is, but just reading him processing his thoughts like a killer made me shiver. What also pulled me in with this book were the chapters that were written from the killer’s point of view. It shows just how much experience Delaney must have as it’s realistic to the point of it being terrifying.

Sean is on the trail of a killer who is frighteningly smart. He knows about forensics and every scene he shows up at is free of any DNA evidence. What struck me when reading this book was the fact that you get to see coppers work a case the real way, not like an episode of CSI. It had me horrified and intrigued in equal measures. The pace was pretty good but this was certainly secondary for me as the storyline and characters were brilliant. This was a book I didn’t want to put down and is best described as a meaty police thriller. Literally as soon as the last page was turned I was straight onto Amazon to find out when the next one is due. I was extremely pleased to see that the second book in the series `The Keeper’ is due out in September 2013.

All I can say is that Delany has clearly found his calling following a career in the police. Being an author is now clearly what he is meant to do and I for one will be keeping a close eye on all future Delaney related news. Highly recommended; especially for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham.