Category: Michael Wood

A Room Full of Killers by MIchael Wood (DCI Matilda Darke #3)

51yPuavxa1L._SY346_ Synopsis: Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder…

Starling House is home to some of the nation’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison.

When the latest arrival is found brutally murdered, DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, and discover a prison manager falling apart and a sabotaged security system. Neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.

The only person Matilda believes is innocent is facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate, and find a murderer in a house full of killers…

Kat’s Rating: 5/5 Continue reading “A Room Full of Killers by MIchael Wood (DCI Matilda Darke #3)”

Outside Looking In by Michael Wood (DCI Matilda Darke #2)

51-x44K35eL._SY346_ Synopsis: The second book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead.

The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker – both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end.

The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there’s a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it’s going to take all Matilda’s wits to catch him, before he strikes again.

Kat’s Rating: 5/5 Continue reading “Outside Looking In by Michael Wood (DCI Matilda Darke #2)”

For Reasons Unknown by Michael Wood (DCI Matilda Darke #1)

51YzLiJmaqL Synopsis: Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more…

DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.

Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda’s case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…

Kats Rating: 5/5

My Review:

My, NOW I see what everybody was going on about! I’ve been seeing so much hype around this book but have literally been swamped with books and just haven’t had the chance. I finally got around to this and am so pleased I did. For a debut novel this was an absolute corker of a read and one that I can totally see why everybody would recommend (me included). DCI Matilda Darke isn’t just your both standard copper that has scars; it seems she is on the brink of destruction. We meet her upon her return to work. That in itself is a hardship and although the reader doesn’t quite know why, it’s very clear from the outset it won’t be an easy return to work for her.

Although Matilda has returned she is assigned with the cold case of the murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. A number of Matilda’s colleagues make appearances and they all seem to have their place within the story, especially DC Rory Fleming and DS Sian Mills. Her nemesis and acting DCI in her absence is Ben Hales. He makes for a loathsome character but an interesting one. As Matilda’s cold case starts to be worked on, DCI Hales catches a new investigation involving murder.

The two cases eventually collide which although easy to spot early on, made for extremely interesting reading. The plot was so well thought out and the characters just fitted right in. This book certainly doesn’t have the feel of a debut novel, more like a seasoned professional who has launched a new series. The flow, pace and depth of the story was all absolutely spot on and there was little to find fault with.

I certainly didn’t see the ending coming and although I wasn’t surprised by the turn of events it made for a compelling read. I devoured this book in just 2 sittings and certainly think I will be following this series. There is plenty of scope with characters and storylines, not just for Matilda although I admit she makes a cracking lead. I was certainly impressed by this debut and think most people if reading it with no knowledge would assume it’s from a longer standing author. This is most certainly a book I would highly recommend