The Empty Nest by Sue Watson

48118701._SY475_ Synopsis: ‘Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us, Kat. Everyone has secrets, even the people we love, the people we live with…’

Kat remembers the days when her only daughter Amy wouldn’t leave her side. Amy was the baby who cried when you walked out of the room, the toddler who was too shy to speak to strangers, the small child who clung to Kat’s legs in the school playground.

But now Amy is grown up, and Amy is gone – to university in a town several hours away. Kat’s house – which once felt too full, too noisy, too busy – is deathly quiet, and Kat awaits the daily phone call to tell her that her beloved daughter is thriving and happy.But one day Amy doesn’t call. Kat’s husband and friends think she is being paranoid – surely Amy is just out, having fun with her friends. But Kat knows right away that something is very wrong. Her daughter would never forget to call. She would never just disappear… After all, Amy has nothing to run from. Or does she?

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before and Gone Girl will be gripped by this unputdownable story about a mother’s obsessive love for her child

Kat’s Rating: 4/5

Kat’s Review: Okay I am completely confused by what I think about this book. This book was a complete surprise in one respect and kudos to Sue Watson for creating a cracking ending. However, there is an element of me that just wanted to slap the main character far too many times for me to be able to give this a full 5 stars and I don’t even know why. Of course the lead characters name is awesome (check box 1) but from the outset there was (in my opinion) an edge of mania about her which just grated on me. When her beloved daughter goes missing her life literally stops.

As the book progresses my dislike dialled down a notch as the reader learns more about why Kat had become this paranoid mother teetering on the edge with her daughter, but still something just irritated me about her. This is a pretty dark and twisted tale once you reach the end and it seems from the outset that every person in Kats life could be potentially involved in her disappearance.

I would say towards the last quarter of the book I had my suspicions and it turned out I was right (sort of) but I was still surprised at how it ended but by the time I had finished that last page I realised just how much I had enjoyed the book. It’s certainly a slightly twisted book and although I disliked the character it was still a page turner as you just have to find out what happened

2 thoughts on “The Empty Nest by Sue Watson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s